Arcade and the Fiery Metal Tester

by Rashad Jennings

On Sale: 2020-02-11

Price: $16.99

Book Summary

Arcade and the Fiery Metal Tester is the third book in the Coin Slot Chronicles series by New York Times bestselling author, former NFL running back, and Dancing with the Stars champion Rashad Jennings. This humorous and imaginative series encourages readers to value the power of friendship and imagination, and to never underestimate an underdog.

About the Book

In Arcade and the Fiery Metal Tester, New York City is experiencing the hottest summer on record. Eleven-year-old Arcade Livingston can’t keep his cool after receiving this suspicious warning atop the Empire State Building: “Things will heat up in all areas to test your mettle.”

In no time flat, Arcade is tested like never before to use the Triple T token’s powerful ways to outsmart a bully, find a place for his best friend to live, and spy on some pesky villains from the 1900s. Meanwhile, sister Zoe thinks controlling the token is nothing but a path to disaster.

One thing’s for sure, the token continues its flashing and pulsing. And elevator doors continue to transport Arcade, Zoe, and their friends to meet different people in strange locations—people who will challenge them, teach them, and inspire them to grow in patience and compassion.

And just as a trip through a fiery furnace is necessary to purify gold, the token leads Arcade through superheated situations to test the purity of his heart.

Read as part of the series or as a stand-alone novel! Arcade and the Fiery Metal Tester is the third book in the humorous and imaginative Coin Slot Chronicles series by New York Times bestselling author, former NFL running back, and Dancing with the Stars champion Rashad Jennings.

  • Great for reluctant readers
  • Black and white illustrations included


In Volume 3 of the Coin Slot Chronicles, 11-year-old Arcade Livingston and older sister Zoe must harness their patience and compassion. Retired NFL running back Jennings, writing with veteran children's writer Osborne, developed the Arcade Livingston series after finding success with his book for adults, The If in Life (written with Michael Strahan, 2018). As the book opens, the Livingston parents set goals with their children: to step into the positive character traits of patience and compassion, in accordance with their Christian faith (references to which are lightly sprinkled throughout the text). These goals inform the adventures that follow. The novels can stand alone but are deepened when read together, so maybe that's the best way for readers to understand the full story behind this mysterious Triple T Token and its time-traveling powers. Readers learn that it can take Arcade and Zoe to times and places they've never been with strange people surrounding them, yet this story isn't always about what's happening way out there. There's the serious inside things too. There's Arcade's best friend, Doug, who is being moved to Florida when he wants nothing more than to be close to his ailing grandmother. Is there something that this mysterious Triple T Token can do about that? Does trying to control the power of the token only create further chaos? Dotted with significant life lessons for young readers, who might prefer to start with Volume 1. (Fantasy. 8-12)

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780310767459
  • ISBN 10: 0310767458
  • Imprint: Zonderkidz
  • On Sale: 2020-02-11
  • Pages: 256
  • List Price: $16.99
  • Publisher: Zonderkidz
  • Series: The Coin Slot Chronicles
  • Publication Date: 2020-02-11
  • Trim Size: 139.000mm x 213.000mm x 22.000mm
  • Weight: 317.000gr
  • Category 1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • Category 2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • Category 3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • Category 4 : FICTION / Romance / Clean & Wholesome
  • Category 5 : EDUCATION / Home Schooling